Burlington to Nanticoke

Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The Burlington to Nanticoke planning region covers the municipalities of Burlington, Hamilton, Oakville, Brantford, Brant County, Haldimand County, and Norfolk County. Regional electricity planning in the Burlington to Nanticoke region is divided into four sub-regions: Brant, Bronte, Hamilton and Caledonia-Norfolk.

The local distribution companies providing services to customers in the area include:

  • Alectra Utilities
  • Burlington Hydro Inc.
  • GrandBridge Energy
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Oakville Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. There are currently no active regional planning engagement activities for this region. See Key Resources below for the latest planning documents.

Regional Planning Progress Update

The third cycle of regional electricity planning is currently underway , with the completion of a Scoping Assessment Outcome Report in December 2022 that determined the need for a comprehensive planning approach. Based on emerging electricity needs identified in this current cycle, an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) will be developed that will examine the Brant, Hamilton and Caledonia-Norfolk sub-regions. The Scoping Assessment identified no further regional planning is required for the Bronte sub-region for this cycle. 

Key Resources