Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The Windsor-Essex region is the most southerly portion of Ontario. It consists of the City of Windsor, the Municipality of Leamington, the Towns of Amherstberg, Essex, Kingsville, Lakeshore, LaSalle, Tecumseh, and the Township of Pelee, as well as the western portion of the Municipality of Chatham-Kent. The region also includes a number of Indigenous communities including Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Caldwell First Nation, Chippewas of the Thames, Haudenosaunee Confederacy Chiefs Council (HCCC)/Haudenosaunee Development Institute (HDI), Oneida Nation of the Thames, Six Nations of the Grand River and Walpole Island First Nation (Bkejwanong Territory). Essex County contains the largest concentration of greenhouse vegetable production in North America that have been driving electricity demand and needs in the region, which will also be impacted by the recent industrial load expansion in the City of Windsor.

The local distribution companies providing services to customers in the area include:

  • E.L.K. Energy Inc.
  • Entegrus Powerlines Inc.
  • EnWin Utilities Ltd.
  • Essex Powerlines Corporation
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities.

Regional Planning Progress Update

A new regional electricity planning cycle has begun for the Windsor-Essex region that will examine local growth and future electricity needs. The IESO has developed a Scoping Assessment Outcome Report that determined the need for a coordinated regional planning approach and development of a comprehensive Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP). It also includes the terms of reference for the IRRP and requirements of the technical working group that will begin work on the 20-year electricity plan for the region to determine the best planning approach to meet the region's future needs. 

Key Resources