East Lake Superior

Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The East Lake Superior region extends from the Township of Dubreuilville in the north to the town of Bruce Mines and includes the city of Sault Ste. Marie and the township of Chapleau. The region is roughly bordered by Highway 129 to the east, Highway 101 to the north, Lake Superior to the west and St. Mary’s River and St. Joseph Channel to the south.

The local distribution companies providing services to customers in the area include:

  • Algoma Power Inc.
  • Chapleau PUC
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Sault Ste Marie PUC

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. There are currently no active regional planning engagement activities for this region. See Key Resources below for the latest planning documents.

Join a regional electricity network

Regional Planning Progress Update

The regional planning process was completed for the East Lake Superior region in April 2021 with the release of an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) and supporting Appendices. The plan identifies electricity system needs specifically related to reliability. Some of these needs are expected to be addressed through operational transmission solutions, while others will be considered as part of the IESO’s bulk planning studies. An engagement initiative was undertaken to keep all interested parties informed and provide opportunities for input into the development of the plan. A Regional Infrastructure Plan (RIP) led by Hydro One was completed in October 2021.

A Scoping Assessment Outcome Report and Terms of Reference that set the parameters for the IRRP development were finalized and posted in October 2019. 

Key Resources