Greater Ottawa

Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The Greater Ottawa Region covers the municipalities bordering the Ottawa River from Stewartville in the west to Hawkesbury in the east and north of Highway 43. At the centre of this region is the Ottawa Area, comprising the City of Ottawa, including surrounding neighbourhoods of Kanata, Nepean and Orleans.

The local distribution companies providing service to customers in the area include:

  • Hydro 2000 Inc.
  • Hydro Hawkesbury Inc.
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Hydro Ottawa Limited
  • Ottawa River Power Corporation
  • Renfrew Hydro Inc.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities.

Regional Planning Progress Update

The third cycle of regional electricity planning is currently underway, with the completion of a Scoping Assessment Outcome Report in March 2023. Based on emerging electricity needs identified in this current cycle, a comprehensive planning approach will be undertaken to develop an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) for the Ottawa Area Sub-Region. The Scoping Assessment identified no further regional planning is required for the Outer Ottawa West and Outer Ottawa East sub-regions at this time.

Key Resources