Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The Kitchener/Waterloo/Cambridge/Guelph region is located to the west of the Greater Toronto area in southwestern Ontario. The region includes the municipalities of Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge, and Guelph, as well as portions of Perth and Wellington counties and the townships of Wellesley, Woolwich, Wilmot, North Dumfries and the Region of Waterloo.

The local distribution companies providing services to customers in the area include:

  • Centre Wellington Hydro Ltd.
  • GrandBridge Energy
  • Guelph Hydro Electric Systems Inc.
  • Guelph Hydro Electric System – Rockwood Division
  • Halton Hills Hydro Inc.
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Kitchener-Wilmot Hydro Inc.
  • Milton Hydro Distribution Inc.
  • Waterloo North Hydro Inc.
  • Wellington North Power Inc.

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. There are currently no active regional planning engagement activities for this region. See Key Resources below for the latest planning documents.

Join a regional electricity network

Regional Planning Progress Update

The regional planning cycle for the Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge-Guelph (KWCG) region was completed with the release of an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) and the supporting Appendices in May 2021. The long-term electricity plan identifies needs specifically related to capacity, restoration and end-of-life, but overall demonstrates that the electricity infrastructure is in a strong position to meet and support future growth in the KWCG region. Medium-term needs are expected to be most effectively addressed by low-cost technical transmission solutions and long-term needs present an opportunity to explore alternative solutions. This plan followed a 2019 Scoping Assessment Outcome Report and Terms of Reference for the KWCG Region.

Key Resources