Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The Sudbury to Algoma region includes the Greater Sudbury Area, Manitoulin Island, and the townships of Verner, Warren, Elliot Lake, Blind River, and Walden.

The local distribution companies (LDCs) providing services to customers in the area include:

  • Greater Sudbury Hydro Inc.
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • North Bay Hydro

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities. There are currently no active regional planning engagement activities for this region. See Key Resources below for the latest planning documents.

Join a regional electricity network

Regional Planning Progress Update

The regional planning process for the Sudbury/Algoma region is complete for this planning cycle, following a Needs Assessment conducted in August 2020. Needs were identified at Manitoulin TS and Martindale TS but do not require regional coordination. A Regional Infrastructure Plan (RIP) Report was published in December 2020 by Hydro One. The Hydro One Needs Assessment and RIP Report can be viewed on Hydro One’s website.

The next planning cycle will begin in 2026, unless there is sufficient load growth or an event that requires it to begin earlier.

Key Resources