GTA North (York Region)

Map of Ontario showing 21 electricity planning regions

Area Overview

The GTA North Region (York Region) roughly comprises of municipalities in the Regional municipality of York, including the Cities of Markham, Richmond Hill and Vaughan, the Towns of Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, Newmarket, Whitchurch-Stouffville, and the Township of King. Since the electricity system was not developed along municipal boundaries, customers in some areas near the boundaries of York Region are supplied from infrastructure outside this region. Some customers in Durham and Simcoe counties, and the City of Toronto are supplied from the York Region infrastructure.

The region also includes a number of Indigenous communities including:

  • Alderville First Nation
  • Beausoleil First Nation
  • Curve Lake First Nation
  • Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nation
  • Hiawatha First Nation
  • Haudenosaunee Development Institute/Hereditary Chiefs Council
  • Kawartha Nishnawbe
  • Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation
  • Rama First Nation
  • Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation
  • Six Nations of the Grand River

The local distribution companies providing services to customers in the area include:

  • Alectra Utilities
  • Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Newmarket-Tay Power Distribution Ltd.
  • Toronto Hydro Electric System

Community Engagement

The IESO engages with local and regional communities to seek input to help inform planning activities.

Regional Planning Progress Update

A new regional planning cycle has begun York Region that will examine local growth and future electricity needs. The new cycle started in 2023, beginning with the Needs Assessment that was completed by Hydro One in July 2023.

The IESO is developing a Scoping Assessment Outcome Report and draft Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) Terms of Reference (if an IRRP is required) to determine the most appropriate planning approach going forward to meet the needs of the region.

The previous regional planning cycle was completed for York Region with the release of an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) in February 2020 and the supporting Appendices in March 2020, followed by a Regional Infrastructure Plan (RIP) released by Hydro One in October 2020.

Key Resources