The Energy Transformation Network of Ontario (formerly the Ontario Smart Grid Forum) is a group of senior leaders from across Ontario’s utility, business and non-profit/government sectors working together to drive a more efficient, affordable electricity system in Ontario. ETNO is supported by a Corporate Partners Committee made up of more than 50 private sector organizations active in the smart grid sector.

ETNO’s primary objective is to guide the transformation taking place in Ontario’s energy sector and to seek to optimize outcomes for the benefit of all Ontarians by influencing tangible policy, market and regulatory enhancements with near and long term benefits. To accomplish this objective ETNO will:

  • Act as a platform for dialogue amongst key stakeholders around grid integration
  • Provide specific policy, market & regulatory recommendations to enable the near-term integration of DERs in Ontario
  • Provide advice to government, regulators, agencies, and industry in general to advance the effective implementation of a smart grid in Ontario
  • Ensure that participation on ETNO appropriately reflects the diverse aspects of the Ontario energy demand/supply chain.

More information is available in ETNO’s Terms of Reference.


ETNO’s members include senior leaders from Ontario’s utility, business and non-profit/government sectors. Recently, ETNO revised its mandate to focus on the achievement of tangible, near-term outcomes for the integration of distributed energy resources (DERs) into Ontario’s electricity system and expanded its membership to include leaders from amongst the many new non-utility solution providers that have entered the sector.

ETNO’s current membership includes:

  • Brad Carr, President, Canada, Mattamy Homes
  • Chris Carradine, Executive Vice President, Business Development, Ecobee 
  • David Collie, President & CEO, Electrical Safety Authority
  • Carlyle Coutinho, President & COO, Enwave
  • Ron Dizy, Co-Founder & Managing Director, Red Jar Capital

  • Mark Fernandes, Chief Information & Technology Officer, Hydro Ottawa Limited
  • Paul Grod, President & CEO, Rodan Energy Solutions
  • Anthony Haines, President & CEO, Toronto Hydro
  • Tyler Hamilton, Senior Manager, Partnerships, Cleantech, MaRS Discovery District
  • Cynthia Hansen, Executive Vice President & President, Gas Distribution & Storage, Enbridge Gas Distribution
  • Brian Hewson, Vice-President, Consumer Protection and Industry Performance, Ontario Energy Board
  • Chris Ireland, Managing Director, Infrastructure and Natural Resources, Greenfield Investments and Renewables, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan
  • David Lebeter, Chief Operating Officer, Hydro One Inc.
  • Jeff Lehman, Mayor, City of Barrie
  • David McFadden, President & CEO, Generation 4 Capital Corporation
  • William Milroy, Vice-President, Engineering & Operations, London Hydro
  • Steven Muzzo, Chairman, President & CEO, Ozz Clean Energy, Ozz Electric
  • Dr. Jatin Nathwani, Executive Director, Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy, University of Waterloo
  • Nicholas Pender, Vice President of Energy Markets, Ontario Power Generation
  • Alexandre Prieur, Director, Renewable Energy Integration, CanmetENERGY
  • Matthew Sachs, Chief Operating Officer, Peak Power
  • Neetika Sathe, Vice-President, GRE&T Centre, Alectra Inc
  • Mike Smith, Director, Distribution and Agency Policy Branch, Strategic Network and Agency Policy Division, Ministry of Energy,Northern Development and Mines
  • Katherine Sparkes, Senior Director, Emerging and Demand Side Resources, IESO

ETNO Member Bios


ETNO's current working group includes:

  • Alex DeLange, Advisor, Operations & Reporting, Enbridge
  • Ammar Nawaz, VP, Distributed Energy Solutions (DES), Alectra
  • Andrew Yang, Director, Business Development, Bullfrog Power
  • Anjali Wadhera, Research Officer, NRCan
  • Charles Berndt, Manager, Grid Technology, Hydro Ottawa
  • Charles Layton, Director, Corporate Business Development & Strategy, OPG
  • Chris Carradine, Executive Vice President, Business Development, Ecobee
  • Dervla Murphy, Senior Policy Advisor, MENDM
  • Estefan Apablaza-arancibia, Research Officer, NRCan
  • Geri Yin, Head, Grid Innovation, Alectra
  • Greg Van Dusen, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Hydro Ottawa
  • Ian McCarter, Manager, Business Development, MaRS
  • Imran Noorani, VP, Strategy & Corporate Development, Peak Power
  • Kaleb Ruch, Manager of Government Relations, Toronto Hydro
  • Rachele Levin, Innovation Sandbox Lead, OEB
  • Ryan Boudreau, Manager, Protection and Automation, Hydro One
  • Raubia Elahi, Regional Sales Manager, Bullfrog Power
  • Ryan Zade, Team Lead, MENDM
  • Shawn Peterson, Account Manager, Ecobee
  • Zoran Stojanovic, Director, Information Services, London Hydro
  • Justin Ngomsi, Senior Manager, Operating Engineering & Performance Reporting, Hydro One
  • Mario Chiarelli, Chief Technology Officer, Cricket Energy
  • Moeen Salibe, Senior Director, Smart Operations & Optimization, Enwave

Corporate Partners Committee

The Corporate Partners Committee (CPC) serves in an advisory capacity to ETNO and focuses on identifying practical barriers to the implementation of innovative energy solutions in Ontario and proposing constructive, pragmatic, and cost and time effective solutions for consideration by ETNO and its members. The CPC is made up of a diverse range of private sector companies active in the smart grid space and includes the current members (as of January 2020):

 129 Group


Peel Region

Aird & Berlis


Power Advisory LLC




Aztech Inc.





QUEST Canada

Clear Result



Climate Action Services

iGen Technologies 

S & C Electric Company

CSI Software


Sault Ste. Marie Innovation Centre

Direct Energy

Kangaroo Group

Siemens Canada




Soft Grid Analytics



MaRS Discovery District

Summitt Energy 




Sustainable Environmental Solutions




Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

Enel X


Ontario Centres of Excellence 

Total Energy Advice & Management Ltd. (TEAM)


Ontario Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines 

University of Toronto - Rotman


Opus One Solutions




Z3 Controls

General Electric (GE)

Peak Power Energy

Zero Footprint