Burlington to Nanticoke

Regional electricity planning in the Burlington to Nanticoke region is divided into three sub-regions – Brant, Bronte and Greater-Hamilton.

Planning is underway in Burlington to Nanticoke

Bronte sub-region

The last regional planning process cycle for the Bronte sub-region was completed in June 2016 and an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) was released.

Brant sub-region

The last regional planning process cycle for the Brant sub-region was completed in April 2015 and an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) was released.

Hamilton sub-region

A Needs Assessment was completed by Hydro One for the Burlington to Nanticoke Region in May 2017, and a Draft Scoping Assessment Outcome Report is currently posted for public comment until September 8, 2017 outlining needs identified and recommended planning approach for the Hamilton sub-region and the broader Burlington to Nanticoke Region.  Included in the Draft Scoping Report for comment is the Draft Terms of Reference for the Hamilton Sub-Region Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP).  

Regional planning in Burlington to Nanticoke

The Brant sub-region was under study before the formalization of the regional planning process by the Ontario Energy Board in 2013.

For the remainder of the Burlington to Nanticoke region, Hydro One completed a Needs Screen in May 2014, which was followed by an IESO-led Scoping Assessment. The assessment report, completed in September, 2014, identified that in addition to an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) for Brant, an IRRP would also be the appropriate planning approach for the Bronte sub-region.

The Brant and Bronte IRRPs were completed in 2015 and 2016, respectively. Hydro One subsequently undertook a Regional Infrastructure Plan (RIP) for the region which was completed in February 2017.

See more details on Hydro One's website.

Region overview

For regional planning purposes, the Burlington to Nanticoke region comprises the municipalities of Burlington, Hamilton, Oakville, Brantford, Brant County, Haldimand County, and Norfolk.

The local distribution companies providing service to customers in the area include:

Alectra Utilities

Brant County Power Inc.

Brantford Power Inc.

Burlington Hydro Inc.
Hydro One Networks Inc.

Norfolk Power Distribution Inc.

Oakville Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc.