York sub-region

The regional planning cycle begun in 2013 for the York sub-region was completed in April, 2015 and an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) was released.

Regional Planning status

In the near-term, three transmission projects are recommended to address capacity and reliability needs; these projects are already under development by Hydro One and Alectra Utilities (formerly PowerStream).

In the medium to long term, York sub-region's electricity system is expected to reach its capacity to supply growth in the early to mid-2020s based on current projections. If the growth materializes, there will be a need for additional new supply in the region. The Working Group will seek community input on possible solutions.

The IESO and the Ministry of Transportation have announced a joint corridor identification study on a proposed land corridor in the Northwest Greater Toronto Area (NW GTA). The purpose of this study is to identify land to be protected for future multi-purpose linear infrastructure (such as transmission lines and transportation infrastructure) to ensure it can be accommodated if and when the need arises. The anticipated long-term need for new transmission in the NW GTA has been documented by the IESO through submission to official plans and the regional planning process, and has been highlighted in the 2017 Long-Term Energy Plan. Although the area of study is primarily centered in the GTA West planning region, parts extend into GTA North. The study will be conducted in phases and is expected to be complete within nine to 12 months. For further information, please visit the website for the study at http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/publications/gta-west-report/north-west-gta-corridor.shtml.

IRRP Working Group - Next Steps

The Working Group, consisting of staff from Newmarket-Tay Power, Alectra Utilities, Hydro One Networks Inc., and the IESO will use the regional planning process to identify and meet local electricity needs. 

How to get involved

A Local Advisory Committee has been established to give advice on the development of the sub-region's longer-term electricity plan, including how best to engage the community in this discussion. To find out when the committee is meeting and to participate, see the engagement page.

Area overview

York Region is a sub-region within the Greater Toronto Area North region. For regional planning purposes, the region is further divided into Southern and Northern York Region to reflect the layout of the region's electricity infrastructure. Southern York Region roughly includes the municipalities of Vaughan, Markham and Richmond Hill, while Northern York Region roughly encompasses the municipalities of Aurora, Newmarket, King, East Gwillimbury, Whitchurch-Stouffville and Georgina. Because the electricity system was not developed along municipal boundaries, customers in some areas near the boundaries of York Region are supplied from infrastructure outside the scope of this IRRP, and some customers in Durham and Simcoe counties are supplied from the York Region infrastructure.

In addition, a portion of Vaughan is being studied through a separate process as part of the GTA West sub-region.

Historical Context

In 2005, the OPA (now merged with the IESO) led the development of an integrated plan for Northern York Region, which identified several actions, including the development of conservation resources, a new transformer station and local generation. These actions have been largely implemented and are providing a reliable supply of electricity to Northern York Region.