Skip Links


The IESO President and CEO and Leadership Team are responsible for implementing the strategic direction and initiatives for the organization in keeping with its statutory objectives. They also provide advice and recommendations to the IESO Board of Directors.

Murray Elston

Murray Elston, DirectorMurray Elston was appointed to the IESO Board of Directors on January 1, 2015. Prior to that, he served on the former IESO’s board since March 21, 2014. 

Mr. Elston practiced law in Wingham, Ont., before being elected to the Ontario Legislature in 1981 (Huron Bruce). He was re-elected in 1985, 1987 (Bruce) and 1990 (Bruce). In the legislature, Mr. Elston served as Health Minister, Minister of Financial Institutions and Chair of Management Board.

Following his tenure in the legislature, Mr. Elston served as President of the Canadian Nuclear Association and of Canada's Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies before joining Bruce Power in 2009. After retiring from Bruce Power, he served as Chair of the Electricity Distribution Panel (2012-2013).

Mr. Elston attended the University of Western Ontario where he received a Bachelor of Arts and a Law degree.