Panel Members

The Dispute Resolution Panel mediates and arbitrates certain disputes arising under the market rules. The Board of Directors has appointed The Honourable Dennis O’Connor, Q.C. as Secretary of the IESO Dispute Resolution Panel, commencing April 1, 2015. 

The Honourable Dennis O’Connor, Q.C. - Secretary

The Honourable Dennis O'Connor, Q.C., formerly the Associate Chief Justice of Ontario, is counsel in the Toronto office of a national law firm. He was appointed to the Court of Appeal for Ontario in 1998 and served as Associate Chief from 2001 until he retired at the end of 2012. He was appointed Magistrate in the Yukon Territory in 1973, where he served until 1976. He has also sat as a Deputy Magistrate of the Northwest Territories and a Provincial Court judge in the northern regions of British Columbia.

While on the bench Mr. O'Connor wrote numerous judgments dealing with a wide range of issues including commercial, insurance and securities law. In addition, he conducted two successful public inquiries: The Walkerton Inquiry (2000-02) and the Maher Arar Inquiry (2004-06). He also served as Chair of the Judicial Independence Committee and the Priorities and Planning Committee of the Canadian Judicial Council (2007-10).

Before being appointed to the Court of Appeal, Mr. O'Connor was a senior counsel at a national law firm for 18 years. His practice focused on commercial and public law litigation. He acted on many major cases in Ontario and elsewhere in Canada during that period. He appeared as lead counsel on many major cases in Ontario and elsewhere in Canada during that time. From 1980 to 1984 he acted as Chief Negotiator for the Government of Canada for Yukon Indian Land Claim. He served as an elected bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada from 1987 to 1995. He also taught law as an associate professor at the University of Western Ontario (1976-80), and as a part-time faculty member of Osgoode Hall Law School (1982-86).

Mr. O'Connor was elected a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers in 1991. He has been awarded several honorary degrees including: Doctors of Law (Hon.) from the University of New Brunswick (2013), The Law Society of Upper Canada (2013), the University of Guelph (2011), Assumption University (2008), York University (2007) and the University of Western Ontario (2003). Mr. O'Connor has also received a number of awards, including the Advocates Society Medal, the Toronto Lawyers Award of Distinction, The Ontario Bar Association Award for Distinguished Service, the Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators Medal, The Canadian Water Resources Association Distinguished Achievement Award and the American Waterworks Association Award of Merit.

Members of the Dispute Resolution Panel

  • The Hon. Robert P. Armstrong, Q.C.
  • Mr. William Horton
  • Mr. Gordon Kaiser
  • The Hon. Dennis O’Connor, Q.C.
  • The Hon. Konrad Von Finckenstein, Q.C.

All dispute resolution documents must be filed with the Secretary at the following address:

Secretary, Dispute Resolution Panel
1600-120 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
Fax: 416.506.2843