GTA East

Regional electricity planning in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) East region is divided into two sub-regions – Pickering-Ajax-Whitby and Oshawa-Clarington.

Regional planning activities in GTA East 

Pickering-Ajax-Whitby sub-region

The last regional planning process cycle for the Pickering-Ajax-Whitby sub-region was completed in June 2016 and an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) was released.

Oshawa-Clarington sub-region

A Needs Screening, the first step in the regional planning process, determined that regional coordination is not needed for this sub-region at this time. The Needs Assessment report is available on Hydro One's regional planning page for the GTA East region.

Region overview

Map of GTA EastStrong community growth is being seen in many areas across the Greater Toronto Area East (GTA East) region. Plans to accommodate urban intensification and the new "Seaton" community north of Pickering require integrated regional solutions to ensure that the electricity system can continue to supply the demand over the long term.

The GTA East region extends from Lake Ontario northward to the southern parts of Scugog and Uxbridge, and includes the municipalities of Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa and parts of Clarington within Durham Region. The area is supplied by several transformer stations fed by the 230 kV transmission system in the area.

The local distribution companies providing service to customers in the area include:

Hydro One Distribution

Oshawa PUC Networks
Veridian Connections Inc.

Whitby Hydro Electric Corporation