Home > Ontario's Power System > Regional Planning > London Area Regional Planning

London Area Regional Planning

A Needs Screening was carried out by Hydro One Networks Inc. for the London region. The report identified electricity needs that may require regional coordination, and concluded these needs should be reviewed further by the IESO-led Scoping Assessment process.

The Regional Participants, including representatives from Entegrus Power Lines, Erie Thames Power Lines Corporation, London Hydro Inc., St. Thomas Energy Inc., Tillsonburg Hydro Inc., Woodstock Hydro Services Inc., Hydro One Networks Inc. (distribution and transmission) and the IESO further reviewed the identified needs in the region and outlined the best planning approach in a Scoping Assessment Outcome Report (Scoping Report).

The Regional Participants divided the region into five sub-regions.

  • Capacity and load restoration needs were identified in the Greater London Sub-Region and an Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) is being developed to address them,
  • Supply capability limitations were identified in Alymer-Tillsonburg Sub-Region and will be addressed through Regional Infrastructure Planning, which will be led by Hydro One,
  • Local planning between affected local distribution companies and Hydro One Transmission will address needs in the Strathroy Sub-Region and Woodstock Sub-Region; and,
  • The St. Thomas Sub-Region requires no further planning at this time.

Current status: An Integrated Regional Resource Plan (IRRP) has been released for the Greater London sub-region.

Subscribe to receive updates on the London Area region.  

How to get involved

The final Greater London IRRP was released in January 2017. Subscribe to receive updates on the plan and London Area planning area.

IRRP and RIP Working Groups

The Working Group for the Greater London IRRP consists of staff from the IESO, Hydro One Networks Inc. (transmitter and distributor), and London Hydro.

The Working Group for the Aylmer-Tillsonburg RIP consists of staff from Hydro One Networks Inc. (transmitter and distributor), IESO, Erie Thames Power Lines, and Tillsonburg Hydro.

Area overview

The London Area includes the municipalities of Oxford County (comprising Township of Blandford-Blenheim, Township of East Zorra-Tavistock, Town of Ingersoll, Township of Norwich, Township of South-West Oxford, Town of Tillsonburg, Township of Zorra), City of Woodstock, Middlesex County (comprising Municipality of Adelaide Metcalfe , Municipality of Lucan Biddulph, Municipality of Middlesex Centre, Municipality of North Middlesex, Municipality of Southwest Middlesex, Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc, Municipality of Thames Centre, Village of Newbury), City of London, Elgin County (comprising Municipality of Town of Aylmer, Municipality of Bayham, Municipality of Central Elgin, Municipality of West Elgin, Municipality of Dutton/Dunwich, Township of Malahide, Township of Southwold), and City of St. Thomas.

The total peak demand in the London Area was approximately 1,250 MW in 2014. Electrical supply to the London Area is provided through a network of 230 kV and 115 kV transmission lines supplied from Longwood Transformer Station (TS), Buchanan TS and Karn TS.

London Area Map

Map of London